Shire has spoken

Voters elect four new councillors, re-elect three to serve for next four years

FOUR new faces will join three re-elected councillors to serve on the Strathbogie Shire Council for the next four years.
Election results, confirmed by the Victorian Electoral Commission on the weekend, saw the election of newcomers Kate Stothers in Honeysuckle Creek Ward, Alistair Thomson in Mount Wombat Ward, Amanda McClaren in Lake Nagambie Ward, and John Mason in Seven Creeks Ward.
They join re-elected councillors Deb Swan (Lake Nagambie Ward), Mick Williams (Seven Creeks Ward), and Malcolm Little who won a tight contest in Hughes Creek Ward.
The decision of three former councillors not to seek re-election always meant there was going to be change.
However, as some speculated during the campaign, the unprecedented number of 19 candidates standing for election suggested the shire was particularly engaged in this year’s contest, and many candidates campaigned on the promise of bringing about some real changes to the operation of the local government.
Mr Thomson – who won his seat outright with almost 56 per cent of first preference votes in the three-way contest with Andrew Townsend and Ruth Fluhr – was among candidates hoping to bring new ideas and alterations to the financial operations of the shire council.
Back in August he told the Euroa Gazette he would like to see the rates burden eased for farmers in the district, and that there were changes that could be implemented to expenditure to accommodate for that reduction.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


In Person

45-47 Railway St
Euroa, 3666


Office Hours

8:30am to 5pm Monday to Wednesday & Friday (Closed Thursday’s)

By Phone

5795 3041

Fax: 5795 3063

When to book

Gazette Classifieds

Noon Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Selling a car

Two weeks advertising with picture from only $29