Electorate backs Stephanie Ryan

She wins 65.28% of two candidate preferred vote

A SURE VOTE: New Euroa member Steph Ryan places her vote on Saturday.

ALMOST 5500 Strathbogie Shire residents braved the heat on Saturday and placed their vote for this year’s hotly contested state election where a new local member was announced.

In the new seat of Euroa, which long time Nationals campaigner Stephanie Ryan won on Saturday night, polling booths had a steady flow of voters make the all important decision throughout the day.

With appearances by the three main candidates, which included Clare Malcolm (Labor) and Tony Schneider (Liberal), as well as former politicians Bill Sykes (formerly the state member for the last 12 years) and Sophie Mirabella (former member for Indi), it was clear Steph Ryan was the favorite throughout the Strathbogie Shire.

While there was a change in government, with the Australian Labor Party’s Daniel Andrews being named Premier of Victoria, the ‘safe’ Nationals seat was once again retained with Ms Ryan claiming 37.17 per cent of first preference votes, followed by Ms Malcolm on 27.56 per cent and Mr Schneider on 24.96 per cent.

The two candidate preferred vote also went to Ms Ryan with 65.28 per cent and Ms Malcolm with 34.72 per cent.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


In Person

45-47 Railway St
Euroa, 3666


Office Hours

8:30am to 5pm Monday to Wednesday & Friday (Closed Thursday’s)

By Phone

5795 3041

Fax: 5795 3063

When to book

Gazette Classifieds

Noon Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Selling a car

Two weeks advertising with picture from only $29